Love chocolate but are an animal lover and prefer not to eat it because of that?

Can chocolate be vegan?

This is a question that many people have probably asked themselves. The answer is, of course, yes – chocolate “comes” from a cacao tree, a bush or a tree, so it is inherently vegan. It only becomes “non-vegan” in a process where many additives are added to it, including sugar and milk or milk fat. Quality chocolate contains a higher proportion of cocoa, pure ingredients and absolutely no harmful additives. And the higher the cocoa content, the purer the chocolate.

Despite the fact that most chocolates are “non-vegan” because of all the possible additives, the good news is that some manufacturers are increasingly devoting themselves to the production of vegan chocolates, so the choice is increasing. For those who don’t like the somewhat stronger and bitter taste that comes with a high cocoa content, milk vegan chocolates are also available. Milk of animal origin in this case replaces, for example, almond or rice milk.

Many advantages

Eating high-quality vegan chocolate has many benefits. Research has shown, for example, that dark chocolate is rich in flavonoids, which have exceptional antioxidant properties, as they help protect our body from various diseases, such as cancer and heart disease, and at the same time slow down the aging process and thereby contribute to better well-being and a more youthful appearance.

Where to look?

If you have decided to try vegan chocolate, but you are not sure whether you will choose the right one, we advise you to pay attention to the appropriate labeling on the packaging when purchasing. There are also some vegan chocolates that do not contain ingredients of animal origin and harmful additives, but this is not specifically marked anywhere. Therefore, it is advisable to read the list of ingredients when buying, and it is recommended to avoid chocolates with a long list of ingredients, as they are often nothing more than low-quality and cheap fillers.

https://www.plamilfoods.co.uk/chocolate

High proportion of cocoa

Vegan chocolate usually has a cocoa content higher than 55%, but of course the key ingredient in pure chocolate is cocoa butter. But don’t worry, cocoa butter, despite what it sounds like, is of vegetable origin, and therefore suitable for all animal lovers.

If you have been used to milk chocolate until now, we advise only the bravest to try chocolate with more than 70% cocoa for the first time, as the difference in the proportion of cocoa between milk and dark chocolate is considerable. A stronger and bitter taste goes hand in hand with a higher proportion of cocoa. Maybe for “beginners” chocolate with 55% cocoa is the most suitable, but in any case, do not forget to check the ingredients before buying, because even some chocolates with a high cocoa content contain ingredients derived from milk.

Choosing vegan chocolate will benefit not only your health, but also many people and the environment. Indeed, many manufacturers are committed to fair trade, which prohibits child labor, while at the same time promoting gender equality, safe, healthy and fair working conditions and environmental protection. The latter also ensures optimal conditions for life on Earth.

Vegan chocolate is becoming one of the most popular types of chocolate.

https://www.plamilfoods.co.uk/chocolate

Leave a Reply