Vegan or non-vegan?

Vegans do not enjoy products of animal origin and if you choose this path, you do not have to look for role models and supporters for a long time, because more and more people are opting for a vegan diet. Clearly, animal products include meat, fish, dairy and eggs, and many foods make it a little heavier.

Why veganism?

The main reasons people opt for veganism are not to torture animals and to do something good for their body. Vegans often emphasize the positive effects of their diet.

Studies involving vegans show that they are mostly healthier than the rest of the population. Research confirms a positive effect on weight, kidney function, blood pressure, blood vessels and cholesterol levels. This is mainly because they consume smaller amounts of saturated fatty acids and cholesterol than they would with animal products. In addition, vegans are more likely to engage in sports or. they move more and take more care of themselves.

What to be careful about as a vegan

It is important to pay attention to a balanced diet, as with all diets. Vegans need to be careful to get some nutrients in sufficient quantities. Protein-rich plants such as legumes, soybeans, tofu, cereals, potatoes, nuts and seeds can provide a good protein supply.

Athletes in particular need more nutrients. These include whole grains and cereals, as well as vegetables and fruits. Meals high in carbohydrates, protein, minerals and vitamins are therefore (although many believe otherwise) optimal for professional athletes.

A balanced diet is always crucial! Particular attention should be paid to vitamin B12, which is available mainly in foods of animal origin, but is almost non-existent in plant products. Experts advise regular checks of this vitamin in the blood and, if necessary, taking a dietary supplement.

It’s vegan, isn’t it?

To be able to judge whether a food is really suitable for vegans, you must first look at the list of ingredients, but here too you may run into problems. Some fatty acids or lactic acid may be of animal or vegetable origin, but a more precise indication is not prescribed. Even undeniably non-vegan ingredients often have labels that only a few understand. It is stated e.g. albumin instead of protein or lanolin instead of wool fat.

Ingredient labels of this kind make it difficult for vegans to shop. Often, however, ingredients of animal origin are also hidden in products where you would not expect them. Few people find it sensible to check whether animal products are also listed on the fruit juice declaration. But fruit juices, as well as wines and beers, are sometimes purified with gelatin or fish bladder. The dough of many bakery products is softened with the amino acid L-cysteine ​​(E-920), which is obtained from bird feathers or pig bristles.

Ingredients of animal origin are also hidden behind aromas and t. i. E’s: E 120 is the label for the carmine dye derived from dead capers, and E 1105 is a preservative from protein or genetically modified ingredients. It is also problematic that some animal ingredients do not appear in the final product, but are partly used in the production process, which also means for vegans that this is not a suitable product for them.

Pay attention to the Vegan label

The products you can find in the dm sales program are equipped with the Vegan label, which allows you to recognize vegan products at a glance, so you do not have to check the ingredients. There are many vegan alternatives to bread, spreads and sweets available.

Leave a Reply